Book Smarts | Mt. Airy News

The Surry Arts Council will present “The Wizard of Oz,” directed by Madeleine Matanek, this weekend.

The Arts Council said of the production: “This production is dedicated to the loving memory of Betty Lynn, the Mount Airy girl in Kansas City who flicked her heels and followed the rainbow to Hollywood, Maybury and Mount Airy.” Lynn, known across the country as Thelma Lou from The Andy Griffith Show, passed away on Saturday

The play will open Friday at 7:30 p.m. at the Andy Griffith Theatre. Additional shows will take place on Saturday at 3pm and 7:30pm, and the last show will be on Sunday at 3pm. It has been entertaining fans for generations.

When a hurricane tore through Kansas, Dorothy and her dog Toto are transported away in their home to the magical land of Oz. There they follow the yellow brick road towards the Emerald City to meet the magician, and along the way they meet the Scarecrow, who needs a brain, the Tyneman, who has lost his heart, and the Cowardly Lion, who is looking for courage. Together they meet The Wizard, who instructs the group to bring the Wicked Witch of the West broom, in order to enlist his help and send Dorothy home to Kansas.

The production includes classic songs, such as “Over the Rainbow”, “Munchkinland (Ding Dong! The Witch Is Dead)”, “If I Only Had A Brain / Heart / The Nerve” and “We Off To See The Witch” yellow), “jetterbug,” and “the merry old land of Oz.”

The production stars Cassidy Mills as Dorothy Gill, Aspen Jackson as Glinda/Aunt M, Tom Beckom as Uncle Henry, Scott Carpenter as the Scarecrow/Hunky, David Timm as Tenman/Hickory, Catelyn Gomez as Cowardly Lion/Zelda , Amanda Barnard as Wicked Witch of the West/Almira Gulch, David Nielsen as The Wizard of Oz/Professor Marvel, with Jason Hurter as Winky General, Cory Barr as Nico, and Miss Mac Banfield as Toto.

The main supporting cast are Munchkins Alek Riggs, Anne Rachel Sheppard, Atticus Hawks, Brooke Nichols, Carleigh Jo Mills, Chloe Vinson, Claire Youell, Elijah Garcia, Ellie Kniskern, Isabell Hoerter, Jackie Delacruz, Juliet Barnard, Kaitlynie and Holladellay, and McKinney Holladay, McKenna Wall, Morgan Shipley, Noel Snow, Remy Devore, along with Winky’s Cooper Mack, Gregory Matthews, Maddie Yoel, Noah Wilkes, Thomas Holladay, Cross Casey Mitchell, Corey Barr, Django Burgess, Walker Mill York and Therese Ashley , Molly Easter, Raygan Amos, Tess Ramey, Flying Monkees Alec Riggs, Carly Jo Mills, Isabel Hurter and Juliette Barnard.

Acting as Ozians/Poppies/Ensemble are Abigail Gerber, Ann Rachel Sheppard, Ashley Mills, Ava Crismon, Karelyn Williams, Casey Mitchell, Charlotte Banfield, Cooper Mac, Cory Barr, Django Burgess, Ellie Pomeroy, Emily Jones, Gregory Matthews, and Hannah Hyatt . , Jackie Delacruz, Jason Hurter, Julia Ann Banfield, Juliette Barnard, Kaitlyn Holladay, Kinston Nichols, Lilliroth Beck, Maddy Yoel, Mae Danley, Michael Center, Molly Easter, Morgan Shipley, Noah Wilkes, Raygan Amos, Remy Defour, Sierra Nichols and Tess Rami, Thomas Holladay, Walker York and Xenia Burgess.

The production team includes director Madeleine Matanek, music director Jane Teich, artistic director and choreographer Tyler Matanik, stage director Emily Mack, assistant stage director Melissa Venable, assistant director Jordan Dover, dance unions Julia Ann Banfield and Lily Ruth Beck, lighting designer Paul Denny, Props master Katie Denny, makeup stylist Susan Lawrence, lighting worker Patrick McDaniel, and Backstage Hand Max Barnard, with sound effects from Chad Barnard at Falling Trees Recording Studio, and Costuming by Amanda Barnard, Madeline Matanick, and Shelby Coleman.

The pit orchestra consists of Jane Tish and Theresa Martin on keyboard, Daryl Beck as conductor, Brady Reed on percussion, Pam Parker on flute, and Bobby Heller on clarinet/saxophone.

Masks are required for all members of the public. For tickets or other information about the show, visit or call the Surry Arts Council at 336-786-7998.

Must Read

Related Articles


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here